Meta Bank Debit Card, instead of a Pay Check – the Meta Bank “Star Card” is another way to scam the working public out of their own money


MONEY NETWORK BY META BANK

Auto Zone Complaint by Jarrad7885

I aM aN employee oF a large corp. That does not issue it’s employees paychecks. Instead it uses A DEBIT CARD ISSUED BY META BANK CALLED A STAR CARD BY money network. THIS CARD IS CRAP, YOU CAN HARDLY USE IT ANYWHERE. MCDONALDS AND CONVENIENCE STORES ARE ABOUT THE ONLY PLACES YOU CAN USE IT. IF YOU NEED TO PAY A BILL YOU ARE (S.O.L.) S*** OUT OF LUCK. IN ORDER TO PAY ANYTHING YOU, OF COURSE , HAVE TO WITHDRAW MONEY FROM THE A.T.M. WHICH OF COURSE CHARGES YOU A SURCHARGE/FEE TO GET YOUR OWN PAYCHECK THAT YOU WORKED YOUR A** OFF FOR. IT IS RIDICULOUS !!!! JUST ANOTHER WAY FOR THE BIGGER CORPORATIONS TO KEEP YOU FROM GETTING THE MONEY YOU’VE EARNED. SO I WILL CLOSE BY SAYING THAT META BANK/money network AND STAR CARD ARE A JOKE !!!!!!!! I AM CURRENTLY PUTTING A PETITION TOGETHER IN THE STATE I LIVE IN (TX) TO STOP THIS NON-SENSE. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO MAKE THIS PETITION NATIONAL YOU CAN CONTACT ME @ JARRAD_BLACKSHEAR@tx.rr.com.

Thank you for the forum to get this out, YOU ARE A GODSEND…

http://auto-zone.pissedconsumer.com/money-network-by-meta-bank-20080721128320.html

Meta Bank’s does a heavy marketing to companies trying to get them to use their bank card. Once the company begins to use their card, Meta Bank takes over, and the company can just step back in that partnership. Meta Bank began by serving the “Underbanked” where they could ask for and get huge interest rates on loans. Meta Bank specializes in collections and processors. Why would anyone use Meta Bank over a local bank where they can simply walk in and talk to someone in person face to face who would provide them with a debit card if that is what that customer needs. The original complaint was that he was being paid with a prepaid debit card from Meta Bank and to get access to his salary he had to pay a fee. Certainly that must be illegal!! If it isn’t illegal then it should be. His company and Meta Bank are earning interest from his hard earned money while he isn’t; that is a crime in my book.

If you want a prepaid debit card, why not support your local economy where you live and build a rapport with the people at that bank while you do that? It just doesn’t make any sense to do business with Meta Bank, especially after you look on line and see that they have terrible customer service all across the board no matter what name they choose to market their product under. Meta Bank is just out to make a buck for themselves. They don’t care about the customers no matter what their publicity says.(Comment: Actually Meta Bank has even approached other banks to get them to market their prepaid travel card in New Zealand and they got someone this way too. Please ask if the card is put out by Meta Bank before putting any money on it no matter where you may get any kind of prepaid card.)

People are writing in trying to protect other people from being scammed by Meta Bank. You would do well to pay attention. The choice is yours, of course, but you have been warned about Meta Bank. The problem is greed and Meta Bank. Look at Meta Bank promotes their product to the companies they hope will market it for them; they are often in a financial bind as well. Meta Bank tells people what they want to hear.

2. Written by giverny, on 17-12-2009 22:04

I had a similar nightmare with Meta Bank where they changed the rules, prevented me from having access to my own money when I needed it the most, and then tried to blame me for causing all of the problems. Yes, Meta Bank is at fault, and, yes, your employer is getting some kind of monetary kick back from Meta Bank for using Meta Bank’s debit card.

Please report your experience with Meta Bank to the Attorney General in the state where you live and to the Better Business Bureau in Des Moines, Iowa which is the state where Meta Bank is located, only so BBB will have a record of your complaint on file. Then please write a letter of complaint about the customer service you have received from Meta Bank to

Office of Thrift Supervision

Department of the Treasury

Consumer Affairs Division

1700 G Street, NW

Washington, DC 20552

Meta Bank needs to be be stopped from keeping honest working people from being able to access their own money. Writing letters to let off steam online is fine, but if you will all write a letter explaining your experiences to the three consumer protection agencies mentioned above, collectively we might be able to get this kind of scam stopped once and for all around the country. It will only happen if you write to the proper places where some real action can take place.

Hard working people need to be protected! You need to step up to the plate and write the letter to the right people so that some real consumer and labor protections can be put into place.

You should be paid real wages! These people are stealing from you or worse… when someone works for another person in the United States and doesn’t get paid any money for their work…Historically, we abolished that practice over a century ago. Please write a letter now to get this stopped so even if you move on to a new job this practice will not be permitted anywhere in this country again.

3. Written by Leeann Witman, on 25-11-2009 00:31                                                                                                                                              I too work for a large corp and I use my card all the time everywhere. You need to have your company set it up as a VISA card and then you use it every where. I never have a problem. I know that there are things that can charge like if I use the debit it costs me .25 but that is all. I do not pay for anything other than that (Comment: Leeann thinks that she has had good luck because her card says Visa on it. My card did too, but that means nothing if it is affiliated with Meta Bank, and they just haven’t gotten around to her account yet. She thinks that she knows everything, but she has simply been lucky so far. Her day will come and she will feel foolish for having made such a comment. Leeann, these people are trying to warn you about Meta Bank.)

4. Written by Mike, on 20-09-2009 16:07

I have been using this card for almost three weeks now and i went to use it and it said i didnt have any money on it and i had over 280 dollars on it WHERE THE **** did it go everry time you call the card it cost’s a dollar that is carp…wat of time (Comment: Meta Bank does charge a dollar per phone call just to phone them. The problem is that the card isn’t working right, but he can’t prove it and it costs money to talk to Meta Bank. Meta Bank is a scam.)

5. Written by Samantha, on 21-08-2009 15:19

Hi, I activated the card, but didnt use it until I could get my pay direct deposited to my checking. I activated it though. Then when I called to get my balance, they told me there was a hold on the card because I didnt use it. I had to send in my SS card and a license. I did. Then they said I had to give them a copy of my passport. I dont have one. Then I had to fax them a copy of a credit card. None of this has released my 750 bucks. Now they say my address on my license doesn’t match the address on my acct. I have been trying to get my money for 3 to 4 months without any luck. THIS COMPANY IS A FRAUD! (Comment: I would have to agree with her thinking here. Did she get paid or not? It looks like she did not get her pay for her work. Taking the money and not giving anything in return is theft.)

6. Written by Sean, on 10-08-2009 02:35

After I converted the ATM only card from a previous employer, I converted it to a VISA Money Network card I’ve been very happy with it. Been using it for about 6 years now with no problems at all! (Comment: after changing jobs, he could do that, but this is a different situation for these people, who do not want to change jobs, they want to be paid real money from which they can actually earn interest. This is a very reasonable expectation.)

7. Written by Rebecca, on 13-10-2008 13:35 ( Comment: Who is Rebecca? Why is she entering in on this conversation? Meta Bank is making lots of money off of this and so is the company that bought into this kind of deal. The employees really are being taken advantage of here.)

I did just want to mention. Don’t blame meta bank for this. This is your companies decision to do this because they don’t want to waste their time doing checks. Plus I bet they signed up for a deal with metabank and I bet they get some of the feeS!! Which I bet is a lot! So basically this is a way to get some of their money back that u earn! But like I said MetaBank is good for us idiots who can’t manage money. Yes, it costs us but what else are we to do? Pay off our old bank accounts and learn how to budget! LOL It will cost until then. But It is your company you should be mad at not MetaBank.

8. Written by chris, on 11-10-2008 17:04

just got this card. *** it ***

9. Written by miss leo, on 27-09-2008 00:31

oh yea! by husband got this piece of crap card months ago and its just been laying around the house cuz its not even worth da hassle to take out da $20 that’s still in it!!!

10. Written by –, on 17-09-2008 13:46

I TOTALLY agree!!!! i also work for a big company and am facing the same problems. My company didnt warn us we HAD to use these cards. Several of the people i work with have not activated the card yet so they have missed out on 3 pay checks. But they dont want to activate it because they dont trust the terms and conditions. You get paid an arm and a leg at atm’s just to get cash out. ITS A WASTE OF MONEY!!!


Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Diarmuid Connolly

     /  February 19, 2011

    (THEY ARE HOLDING MY MONEY HOSTAGE ) For real !

    Yeah I Agree With everyone, I Have the Visa Card, I had no other choice to at the time. So anyways . Heres my Story, ( still not resloved Ongoing ) I Had card when i first started with the company, and i had no problems untill the card expierd, So my money went on there and i couldnt use it nor credit or debit/ or even get money out the atm. I called them up and they said i was supposed to recieve a new card 2 weeks prior to the experation date, I Never got one, so they said they will send one out ( which they did) So then when my money goes on there, i went to use it and its declined ) i called them back up and they said its on hold from further use cuz they need proof of ID 2 IDS so i fax them the info, I called them again and they said it was too dark, so i sent it at the lightest poss setting the place i went to fax it, ok same thing to dark I send it 7 times, all the info Same thing too dark. I keep calling them and i get the same thing send it again. send it again. Im Like no and then they asked to fax a copy of my car regis I was Oh No they are not getttin that ( is this even legal for them to ask for such a doc. ? ) . As Of 02/19/2011 Im still waiting can calling them to get my card off hold > I Didnt need to do this when i signed up why should i send it now…. When i get it resolved, Im Gonna get rid of them……..

    Reply
    • What a big scam by banks!!! Write to your US Senator(s) and US Representive(s) and get them to change the laws to make better laws that will protect consumers interests and rights.

      Reply
    • Please share this story with the Office of Thrift Supervision in DC and with your state attorney general’s office. Meta Bank operates using many different names. It operates on a national and international level. For that reason, please contact your US Senators and Representatives. We need laws or better enforcement of the laws we have now so that consumers are protected against predatory banking practices. From what I have read, after the expiration date, instead of sending you your money, Meta Bank kept it since it was on the card. This is one of the major reasons that I believe that no one should do business with a bank that can even consider this action given our current economy.

      It isn’t enough to vent on line. The only way to get the change you need and the protection from such corrupt banking practices is to make this situation known to the proper authorities. Banks like Meta Bank whose thought process is basically corrupt and base need to be stopped from doing this to people. Only you can help to get the banking system better regulated. Please write to the people who will actually make a difference.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

